acne

Roaccutane – Week 7

Hello again lovely people.

I’m back again to update you on my roaccutane journey.

Roaccutane is used to treat acne, you can read all about my journey so far in my blog. here is my latest post Roaccutane – Week 6 and if you would like to find out more about my skin journey and why I am on roaccutane you can do so here Roaccutane: The Start of My Journey.

As always, I have put a photo of Week 6 followed by Week 7 below, so you can compare the difference!

Week 6 – 


Week 7 – 


So last week I had a bit of a breakout, i was still recovering from the lumps that came up on my forehead the week before, and i had a few cysts along my jaw line and around my nose (as you can see!!). These healed up within 4/5 days, which is an upside to roaccutane as it dries everything out quicker. I have only had a few breakouts this week near the end as it is the lovely time of the month! i had one more pop up on my forehead and a few on my chin.. mostly whiteheads, one under the skin that dried up within a day and one that is lingering. 

overall I am ok with my skin today.. it seems to be calming down, although i wont hold my breathe as it could just as easily break out again! It’s still really red as you can see but it’s actually pretty flat and easier to cover with make up! 

I had my first check up with my dermatologist yesterday! she seemed happy with my progress and didn’t have any concerns. She hopes to see major improvement when I see her again in 8 weeks, which is good to know i should be clearer by then!

Side Effects I am feeling this week

  • headache/jaw ache
  • muscle/joint ache – easing off slightly, or I am just getting use to it!
  • back pain
  • tiredness
  • redness – the scars being left behind from my current breakouts are a lot redder but my derm advised me this is normal
  • dryness – very dry! if I don’t moisturise straight after i cleanse i get very dry in random patches
  • dry hands – oh so gross!! 

I am reaaalllyyyy hoping in next weeks 2 month update i will be heading forward – as most of my updates i am either staying the same or going backwards! But i feel good.. i am trusting in the medication and i have to let it do its job! 

id be interested to know if any of you have been on roaccutane/accutane and have any advise on when to expect results or when you found it started to improve! id love to speak with others going through the same process or who have been through it!

thank you for reading! and as always let me know if you have any questions πŸ™‚

lwuzzxy4mwdixn5r6

 

 

One thought on “Roaccutane – Week 7

Leave a Reply

