acne

Roaccutane – week 1

Ahhhh… here goes!

I have just finished my first week of Roaccutane!

For those who don’t know, roaccutane is a drug used to treat acne. After several years of suffering, trying all sorts of different creams, pills and antibiotics, i finally gave in and went to see a dermatologist who prescribed me roaccutane. I go into more detail about my acne journey in my first roaccutane blog postΒ Roaccutane: The Start of My JourneyΒ so please feel free to give this a read πŸ™‚ i will be documenting each week of my journey with the hope of helping other people suffering with acne and looking at going onto roaccutane.

It’s took a lot of consideration to decide wether I wanted to post photos of my skin in my updates. My first thought was that people won’t want to read my blog because these photos are ugly and unsightly. But if I want to be completely honest with people and show a true account of my journey then I should. I decided to stop feeling ashamed of my face and use it to inspire and educate people. So if you are reading this and thinking ‘err!’ Then sorry! You may want to steer clear of my roaccutane update posts.

At my recent worst – I’ve included this as my skin wasn’t too bad when I began so wanted to give you an idea at how bad it can get


Day 1-


End of Week 1


Overall so far all is not too bad. i haven’t had as many side effects as i though i might, and the ones i have had have not been too severe. In general i have been feeling rough but i do also have a cold, but I’m not sure if that is just a coincidence?

Week 1 – Side Effects:

  • tiredness
  • thirsty – like I can’t get enough!
  • dry skin – only just starting to get dry towards the end of the week
  • sensitive skin
  • slight joint ache
  • dry mouth / throat
  • Chapped lips

My skin has actually been what i would class as good this past week. It has been fairly flat and easy to cover with makeup. This makes me happy but i also know it wont last for long.Β When taking roaccutane it is very common to have an initial break out, i kind of look at it as all the bad stuff being pushed out from your pores. I have had a few new blemishes come up, but no big cysts like i am prone to getting. I am dreading this part but i also want it to happen as soon as possible to get it over and done with.

Please feel free to ask any questions if you have any! I also document this over on my Instagram @kiyagould_ Β if you’d like to have a look or get in touch! The acne community on Instagram is amazing.

I’ll be back next week for Week 2 update!

lwuzzxy4mwdixn5r6

 

 

8 thoughts on “Roaccutane – week 1

  1. You got this! I know many people who have taken roaccutane to treat their acne. The results were great – side effects did suck though. For your dry lips, instead of regular chapstick, try using Vaseline. It’s great for chapped lips, and at night when you’re sleeping you can put a little extra on and not even think about it! Looking forward to seeing your journey!

    Like

    1. thank you so much! i am so excited at the hope of seeing some results. thanks for the Tip! i think i will go and get myself a pot of Vaseline πŸ™‚ thank you for your support, its what i made my blog for so it means alot! πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that you posted the pictures of your skin! That takes so much courage I wish I had! I just finished accutane a couple months ago and it was the best thing I’ve ever done!! I never thought my skin could look so, “normal”.

    I wrote about it a little in my blog, and how I got rid of the scarring after accutane if you would like to check it out!

    I can’t wait to see your updates! πŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! That’s so lovely of you 😊 ooh I’m so glad you’ve got good results! It’s amazing how much your skin can effect you isn’t it. I will defiantly have a look at your blog as scarring is something I have no idea on how to deal with once I’ve got rid of my acne, thanks again πŸ˜ŠπŸ’—

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

